Saskatchewan won the Canadian Wheelchair Curling Championship on home ice at the Moose Jaw Curling Centre on Friday, downing Northern Ontario 6-2 in the final.

Saskatchewan, which curls out of Moose Jaw, is comprised of lead Moose Gibson, second Darwin Bender, third Marie Wright, skip Gilbert Dash and coach Lorraine Arguin. For Bender, Wright and Dash, this is the fourth Canadian title and Gibson's third title.

Wright said it was amazing to win the championship in front of friends and family.

"You look up in the crowd and you see the fans waving and sometimes they were even doing the wave it was great to see," she said.

Dash's rink got off to a quick start in the championship final. They stole two in the first end and a couple more in the second and third ends before Northern Ontario finally got on the board to make it 4-1.

Saskatchewan got the point back in the fifth and stole another point in the sixth end to go ahead by five. Northern Ontario rebounded with a single point in seven before they were run out of rock in the eighth and final end.

After opening the tournament with an 8-7 loss to Northern Ontario, the foursome went on a five-game winning streak besting Alberta #2, New Brunswick, Ontario #2, British Columbia and Alberta #1.

Dash's rink dropped a 10-9 decision to Ontario #1 and closed out the round-robin with an 8-2 win over Quebec to finish in second with a record of 6-2.

Dash would then down the Alberta #1 rink in the semifinals to meet the 7-1 Northern Ontario squad in the final.