As of Tuesday, November 30th, the Canadian government has announced new domestic and international travel restrictions and requirements.

Health Minister Jean-Yves Duclos made the announcement and he stated that with the growing concern of the omicron variant, the government has added three more countries to the travel ban list. Several countries in Southern Africa are already on the list but now Nigeria, Egypt, and Malawi are joining them. That brings the number up to 10 countries on the ban list? This restriction bans any travelers from all foreign nations from entry into Canada if they've traveled to these countries on the ban list within the last 14 days.

"Also, Canadians and permanent residents, as well as all of those who have the right to return to Canada, who have transitted through these ten countries over the past 2 weeks will, when they arrive to Canada, quarantine. They will have to be tested at the airport and await the results of their tests before exiting quarantine," says Duclos in a press conference. "that is for Canadians and permanent residents who are vaccinated. Those who are unvaccinated will follow the current measures for all countries. They will be tested on day 1, Quarantine for 14 days, and be tested again on day 8."

Duclos also announced that any international travelers flying into Canada will have to take a COVID-19 test and quarantine until the test results come in. Travelers from the U.S are the only exception. Travelers must quarantine until their test results come in. All of the usual quarantine requirements for unvaccinated travelers are still in effect.

"As we prepare for a possible extension of that last measure (Travellers flying into Canada must be tested) to all travelers by land and by air coming from the united states, we will be working with provinces and territories to see how that could be done. We don't know if it would need to be done or whether it could be done if the situation evolves and requires such a policy to implement," says Duclos.

Also as of Tuesday, land borders, trains, and airports will no longer be accepting a negative COVID-19 test as admittance to travel. Travelers 12 years of age or older must be fully vaccinated and provide proof when looking to travel. This applies to anyone traveling domestically or internationally. Other measures like wearing masks and social distancing are still mandatory.


More Local News

Test positivity rate and new COVID cases decrease

In the province's recently released COVID-19 weekly update, test positivity rates and new COVID case numbers have both fallen compared to last week. The new test positivity rate is 6.5%, compared to…

City of Moose Jaw releases Summer Recreation Guide

The 2022 Summer Recreation Guide has been released by the City of Moose Jaw. The Recreation Guide includes information on the following: Summer Kinsmen Sportsplex and Phyllis Dewar Outdoor Pool Swim…

POLL: What should be done with the Natatorium?

With plans on replacing the Phyllis Dewar outdoor pool, the City of Moose Jaw will be decommissioning the Natatorium in the near future. The Depression Era building used to be the hub of the city as…

Meili stepping down as MLA

NDP Opposition leader Ryan Meili has announced Thursday that he will be stepping down as the MLA for Saskatoon Meewasin as of July 1. Meili, a native of Moose Jaw, was first elected to the Saskatoon… is Moose Jaw's only source for community news and information such as weather and classifieds.

Search the Biz Guide