Over 1,300 students have been invited to this year’s Saskatchewan Polytechnic Moose Jaw Campus convocation ceremonies, which take place today at the Moose Jaw Events Centre. 

Along with graduating students, four local students and faculty will be receiving awards. 

Lindsey Boechler, researcher chair for cultural empowerment, will be receiving the Applied Research Award of Excellence for her research in paramedicine and her leadership in health research in Canada. 

Boechler said her primary project partnered with Dene High School in La Loche to overcome access to care barriers and improve mental health and well-being for youth. 

“This fall, we’re looking at expanding to up to 10 communities across Saskatchewan and, within five years, we’re hoping to start working with communities at a national level,” she said. 

Ujjval Chavda will be receiving the Outstanding Citizenship Award. The graduate of the Supply Chain Management post-graduate certificate served as the vice president of Sask Polytech’s Students’ Association. 

When he moved to Moose Jaw, Chavda decided to volunteer regularly for community events and joined the city’s Youth Advisory Committee. 

“I was really fascinated by the culture that they have in the committee, how dedicated the team members are and how well organized the committee is,” he said. 

Business – Accounting specialty instructors Lynda Stykel and Adrienne Bodnarchuk each received the Faculty Award for Excellence in Teaching.  

Stykel and Bodnarchuk were recognized for treating their students and colleagues with respect and kindness along with their excellence in teaching and expertise in their field. 

Saskatchewan Roughrider kicker Brett Lauther was the recipient of the Sask Polytech Moose Jaw Campus honorary degree in Applied Studies.

You can find more about the convocation ceremonies on the Sask Polytech website.